E250 – Sodium nitrite

E250

Происхождение: 

синтетическое

Категория добавки: 

Консерванты

Опасность: 

средняя

Sodium nitrite (food additive E250) is used in the food industry as a color fixer and preservative clamp in meat and fish products. Chemical formula of sodium nitrite is: NaNO2. In pure form the additive E250 represents white hygroscopic crystal powder with slightly yellowish shade. Sodium nitrite is well dissolved in water. On air the additive E250 is exposed to slow oxidation with formation of sodium nitrate (NaNO3).

Industrial use of sodium nitrite began in 1906 when its positive properties were discovered at production of meat products and it was approved for the first time as a food additive. Now for receiving sodium nitrite in industrial production the reaction of interaction of compounds of sodium with the connections containing nitrite ion in the water environment is applied. The deposit is received during reaction, is evaporated and cooled. The received white powder also is E250 additive preservative.

Sodium nitrite is very toxic substance. The lethal dose for the person makes from 2 to 6 grams depending on the organism structure. The wrong use of a food additive E250 while production of meat or fish food can cause serious poisonings therefore the sodium nitrite is used in mixture with food salt.

Besides, a number of researches claims that though sodium nitrite itself isn't carcinogen — in certain conditions under heat treatment or in a human body it can react with the amines containing in very small quantities in food and a human body. In the result of such reaction in organism N-nitrosamines — strong carcinogens — substances can be formed which raise the risk of cancer diseases.

But it doesn't mean that it is necessary to exclude completely the products containing nitrites and nitrates from a ration (we will remind that these substances are contained in small quantities in tomatoes, potatoes and in many other vegetables and fruits), but also it isn't recommended to be fond of consumption of the food containing a large amount of nitrates and nitrites too. Also doctors advise to increase consumption of the natural products containing substances, which slow down the process of accumulation of nitrites (for example, vitamins C and E).

Nitrites are well soaked up by organism from a digestive tract. They cause the decrease in muscles tone, expansion of vessels and pressure decline. However all negative properties of nitrites can't be shown at concentration in any way, applied in the food industry. In the report of Council of the scientific questions published in the edition "American medical association" also it is said that sodium nitrite when using in food products as E250 preservative in recommended doses doesn't harm health. Scientists came to this conclusion, having had analyzed all available researches and publications on the item of use of  additive E250, and also more than century experience of use of sodium nitrite  in the food industry.

Sodium nitrite is an important food additive for meat production.

Addition of an additive E250 into products promotes giving them more rich red coloring, and the most important is that it protects products from oxidation and damage by bacteria. In particular sodium nitrite in the form of a food additive E250 constrains the development in products of dangerous bacteria of Clostridium botulinum which are the activators of botulism — the serious food intoxication leading to defeat of nerve system. Antimicrobic effect of E250 preservative is shown at concentrations of 50-160 mg per 1 kg of a ready-made product.

Because of high toxicity of nitrites it is desirable to refuse from their use in the food industry or at least to reduce their concentration in food, but unfortunately effective replacement of the additive E250 isn't found yet. In certain cases the additive E250 can be replaced with safe potassium sorbate (a food additive E202), but it can't give meat that coloring and aroma which nitrites give.

In the legislation of many countries the limit use rate of the additive E250 is established at the level of 50 mg per kilogram of ready-made product. In the European Union it is authorized to apply sodium nitrite only as an additive to salt in number of 0,6%. On productions where E250 preservative is used, according to the legislation strict rules of storage and work with this food additive are established.

Except use as a food additive E250, nitrite of sodium received its application in the most various industries:

  • In medicine, as vasodilating, antidote at poisoning with cyanides, medicine for treatment of diseases of bronchial tubes;
  • In construction as an additive to concrete for giving frost resistance;
  • In the chemical industry for production of dyes and nitro connections;
  • In the textile industry in processes of fabrics coloring;
  • In classical photo business as reagent for photos processing.

The additive E250 is included in the list of the additives permitted for use in the food industry both in Ukraine, and in the Russian Federation.

Отзывы и комментарии

E250 – Нитрит натрия

Другие названия добавки (синонимы)

нитрит натрия, Е250, нітрит натрію, E-250, E 250, Е-250, Е 250

Нитрит натрия (пищевая добавка Е250) используется в пищевой промышленности в качестве фиксатора цвета и консерванта в мясных и рыбных продуктах. Химическая формула нитрита натрия: NaNO2. В чистом виде добавка Е250 представляет собой белый гигроскопичный кристаллический порошок с слегка желтоватым оттенком. Нитрит натрия хорошо растворим в воде. На воздухе добавка Е250 подвергается медленному окислению с образованием нитрата натрия (NaNO3).

Промышленное использование нитрита натрия началось еще в 1906 году, когда были обнаружены его положительные свойства при изготовлении мясных продуктов и он был впервые одобрен в качестве пищевой добавки. Сейчас для получения нитрита натрия в промышленном производстве применяют реакцию взаимодействия соединений натрия с соединениями, содержащими нитрит-ион в водной среде. Полученный в ходе реакции осадок, выпаривают и охлаждают. Полученный белый порошок и является добавкой-консервантом Е250.

Нитрит натрия весьма токсичное вещество. Смертельная доза для человека составляет от 2 до 6 грамм в зависимости от строения организма. Неправильное использование пищевой добавки Е250 при производстве продуктов питания из мяса или рыбы может привести к серьезным отравлениям, поэтому нитрит натрия используют в смеси с пищевой солью.

Кроме того, ряд исследований утверждает, что хотя нитрит натрия сам по себе не является канцерогеном — в определенных условиях при термической обработке или в организме человека он может вступать в реакцию с аминами, содержащимися в очень малых количествах в продуктах питания и организме человека. В результате такой реакции в организме могут образовываться N-нитрозамины — сильные канцерогены — вещества повышающие риск раковых заболеваний.

Но это не значит, что нужно полностью исключить из рациона продукты, содержащие нитриты и нитраты (напомним, что эти вещества содержаться в малых количествах в помидорах, картофеле и многих других овощах и фруктах), но и увлекаться потреблением пищи, содержащей большое количество нитратов и нитритов тоже не рекомендуется. Также врачи советуют увеличивать потребление натуральных продуктов, содержащих вещества, замедляющие процесс нитрозирования (например, витаминов С и Е).

Нитриты хорошо всасываются организмом из желудочно-кишечного тракта. Они приводят к снижению тонуса мускулатуры, расширению сосудов и понижению давления. Однако все негативные свойства нитритов никак не могут проявляться при концентрациях, применяемых в пищевой промышленности. В докладе Совета по научным вопросам, опубликованным в издании «Американской медицинской ассоциации» также говорится, что нитрит натрия при использовании в пищевых продуктах в качестве консерванта Е250 в рекомендуемых дозах не приносит вреда здоровью. К этому выводу пришли ученые, проанализировав все имеющиеся исследования и публикации на тему использования добавки Е250, а также более чем вековой опыт применения нитрита натрия в пищевой промышленности.

Нитрит натрия является важной пищевой добавкой для мясной промышленности. Добавление добавки Е250 в изделия способствует приданию им более сочной красной окраски, а самое главное защищает продукты от окисления и порчи бактериями. В частности нитрит натрия в виде пищевой добавки Е250 сдерживает развитие в продуктах опасных бактерий Clostridium botulinum, которые являются возбудителями ботулизма — серьезной пищевой интоксикации, приводящей к поражению нервной системы. Антимикробное действие консерванта Е250 проявляется при концентрациях 50–160 мг на 1 кг готового продукта.

Из-за высокой токсичности нитритов желательно отказаться от их применения в пищевой промышленности или хотя бы уменьшить их концентрацию в продуктах питания, но к сожалению эффективной замены добавке Е250 пока не найдено. В некоторых случаях добавку Е250 можно заменить безопасным сорбатом калия (пищевая добавка Е202), но он не может дать мясу ту окраску и аромат, которые дают нитриты.

В законодательстве многих стран предельная норма использования добавки Е250 установлена на уровне 50 мг на килограмм готового продукта. В Евросоюзе нитрит натрия разрешено применять только в качестве добавки к соли в количестве 0,6%. На производствах, где используется консервант Е250, согласно законодательству устанавливаются строгие правила хранения и работы с данной пищевой добавкой.

Кроме использования в качестве пищевой добавки Е250, нитрит натрия получил применение в самых разнообразных отраслях промышленности:

  • в медицине, как сосудорасширяющее, противоядие при отравлении цианидами, лекарство для лечения заболеваний бронхов;
  • в строительстве в качестве добавки к бетону для придания морозоустойчивости;
  • в химической промышленности для производства красителей и нитросоединений;
  • в текстильной промышленности в процессах окраски тканей;
  • в классическом фотоделе как реагент для обработки фотографий.

 Добавка Е250 входит в список добавок, разрешенных для использования в пищевой промышленности как в Украине, так и в Российской Федерации.

Комментарии

Комментариев пока нет. Оставьте комментарий первым!

Продукты с добавкой «E250»

Колбаса «Колбасный ряд»
Колбаса «Колбасный ряд»

Колбаса «Колбасный ряд»

Колбаса сыровяленая «Переяслав»
Колбаса сыровяленая «Переяслав»

Колбаса сыровяленая «Переяслав»

Колбаса ТМ «Салтовський»
Колбаса ТМ «Салтовський»

Колбаса ТМ «Салтовський»

Сосиски «Добров»
Сосиски «Добров»

Сосиски «Добров»